Hello Haute World!


Hi Everyone,

This is my first blog posting.  I was  encouraged by my sister, Almitra, to start a blog, so here I am.  Here to give you my two pence about makeup, life, love and whatever else pops into my head that particular day.

One of my shortcomings is procrastination.  I have been meaning to start this blog for some time now. Finally when I was complaining to my sister about a disturbing trend in eyebrows that I saw in an issue of  Vogue Italia, on the models for designer Ann Demeulemeester (it looks like someone drew them on with a sharpie).

Trends in eyebrows shapes is a subject which my sister could care less about, so she suggested (as she often does) that I blog so I can tell someone who does cares.

So here I am.  Now, I understand that runway looks are often done for shock value and often times don’t trickle down to the masses.  Like Alexander McQueen’s (may he RIP), 2009 red lips…. nay, red mouth look.

At the time, my fashion makeup teacher said Mr. McQueen was a genius, and she was right. We need to push boundaries and try new things.  So, I am trying something new with this blog.  Maybe one day I will even color my eyebrows with a sharpie too.  Yep, I will get around to doing it… one of these days.

About asharismith

I am a female in my late 30's. I recently moved to the Los Angeles area. I work as a make-up artist, prosthetics and wig maker and sometimes as a personal assistant.

Posted on February 5, 2011, in Makeup & Life. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Tracy Whisenton

    Oh my gosh, those red lips are….yuck…. glad no one decided to continue that trend!

  2. Great first post! I’m proud of you for getting started!

  3. HEY CHICA! this is awesome!!! honestly, you have a knack for writing quippy, entertaining stuff. I think you should write a column for a newspaper or magazine–seriously. I can see you as one of those red carpet correspondents for E! too…you have talent from all sides (the industry as well as writing/gift for quip).

    Love you and miss you!

Leave a Reply

