Blogger’s Block


Lately, I don’t know what to say.  I am currently unemployed, no pets, no kids, no “mans” (as my grandma likes to say), previously quarantined to the house for a week, due to the flu.  I wasn’t feeling too haute.

I was working as a personal assistant to someone who promised me the first non-union make-up  job that became available.  Then when job was available, they gave it to someone else.  I guess that’s how it goes here in L.A.  It wasn’t so bad that they gave it to someone else, but that the person that I worked so close to, day in and day out, didn’t even have the balls to tell me. Instead I had to hear it from a stranger at the last minute.  When I tried to talk to my boss, he wouldn’t return my phone calls.

Of course I am not the first or the last person this has happened to.  I have friends that have been screwed over royally.  Working long hours for free, with only the smile and the promise of a future paid  job.  Only to find that in the end, they have been passed over yet again.

So, today to lift my spirits I went out and bought a new Nars, Velvet Gloss Lip Pencil in Hopi to give my depressed pout a new look.


I also picked up Benifit’s Dr. Feelgood complexion balm and Clinique’s Mousture Surge moisturizer. I figure my skin doesn’t have to look as bad as I feel.  

And of course…. chocolates See’s Chocolate. Two pieces of glorious vanilla, butter cream truffles with pecans.

So, I still don’t have a job but at least I have something to blog about.

About asharismith

I am a female in my late 30's. I recently moved to the Los Angeles area. I work as a make-up artist, prosthetics and wig maker and sometimes as a personal assistant.

Posted on February 22, 2011, in Makeup & Life. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

